Saturday, May 21, 2022
HomeNewsPoliticsLabour storms to victory in Faraday ward by-election

Labour storms to victory in Faraday ward by-election

Labour held their council seat in the Faraday by-election last week, as Samantha Jury-Dada stormed home with over 60% of the vote.

The by-election, which was triggered when Labour councillor Dan Garfield was convicted of beating his wife in December, saw a total of 1,768 votes cast.

Ms Jury-Dada received 1,070 votes, with the Lib Dem’s Lauren Pemberton-Nelson leading the chasing pack with 255 votes.

Nick Hooper of the Green Party received 138 votes, Tory candidate David Furze received 117, while UKIP’s Toby Prescott, Independent Dean Porter and the All People’s Party’s Alhaji Kanumansa all received less than 100 votes.

Ms Jury-Dada grew up on a London council estate and lives on the Walworth Road close to East Street. She graduated from university last year.

Southwark Council Leader Peter John congratulated Ms Jury-Dada on an “overwhelming victory”, while Bermondsey and Old Southwark MP Neil Coyle heralded the “winning machine” of Southwark Labour.



Comments are closed.

Most Popular

Recent Comments