Monday, November 29, 2021
HomeNewsHealthEvelina London Children's Hospital named 'centre of clinical excellence' for muscle-wasting conditions

Evelina London Children’s Hospital named ‘centre of clinical excellence’ for muscle-wasting conditions

The Evelina London Children’s Hospital has been named as a centre of clinical excellence by a leading charity in recognition of its “outstanding” care for muscle-wasting conditions.

The hospital’s neuromuscular service was given the status by Muscular Dystrophy UK, after being judged by a panel of experts and patients.

Muscle-wasting conditions like muscular dystrophy, Charcot-Marie-Tooth disease, and myopathies, cause muscles and nerves to weaken over time, leading to increasingly severe disabilities.

More than 70,000 children and adults in the UK have a muscle-wasting condition.

Dr Elizabeth Wraige, consultant paediatric neurologist at Evelina London, said the hospital was “absolutely delighted” to get the award.

“Our team are extremely committed to providing our patients with the best care possible so it’s really lovely to be recognised in this way,” she said.

“Muscle-wasting conditions require a range of expertise to treat and manage, so every member of our team, including our doctors, physiotherapists, occupational therapists and specialist nurses, play a key role in caring for our patients. Our secretarial team also provide an essential role in supporting our service.

“At Evelina London we are very fortunate to have on-site access to a wide range of specialist services that children with neuromuscular disorders need.”

Rob Burley, director of campaigns at Muscular Dystrophy UK, congratulated the hospital for being among seventeen centres given the award.

““The hospital’s neuromuscular team provides a comprehensive service for people with muscle-wasting conditions and promotes best practice, ensuring patients have access to the best possible healthcare near where they live,” he said.

“Improved clinical care means faster access to treatments and potential cures.”

The awards, which take place every three years, are awarded across a range of criteria, including care for patients.


Most Popular

Recent Comments

Michael Peacock on The King of Nunhead
EricEatsPickles on Letters to the editor: 09/11/17
Bermonds03 on Rye Station
WesternApproaches on When The Blitz came to Southwark
WesternApproaches on When The Blitz came to Southwark
WesternApproaches on When The Blitz came to Southwark
Peter Bavington on Letters to the editor: 08/12/16
Darren McCreery on Letters: 25/05/16
Paula Griffin on Letters: 25/05/16
Catherine Stephens on COLUMN: Harriet Harman MP
Terrie Walker Amor on £5k raised for brave Southwark kids
Francis Githaiga on GALLERY: Walworth’s Got Talent!
Charlotté India Péto on TOMMY BLACKMORE: Photos and tributes
Jemma Louise Dwyer on Competition: WIN a bike worth £500!